As of January 2022, Apple has required that any apps that support account creation must include a way for users to initiate account deletion (policy here). Google has followed suit, announcing its own policy for account deletion in April 2022 (policy here).
VidApp has implemented this functionality across all apps, which can be found at the bottom of the Profile page. Users are required to confirm their email address when selecting this option to help prevent account deletion from being accidentally initiated.
Once the request is initiated, users will be logged out of the app and blocked from logging in for 30 days to allow for the deletion of their data to be completed. They will also receive an email to confirm we have received the request (see attached examples). IMPORTANT: users will not be able to use the same email address to create a new account during the blocking period and deletion requests cannot be cancelled or reversed.
All data on VidApp's database relating to the user is deleted. This includes things such as calendar history, favourites, in-app purchase history, etc...
We do not cancel or change the user's subscription. If the user has purchased a subscription via the Apple or Google store, they will need to cancel it themselves.
What you need to do
We will send your primary contact an email including all of the user IDs that have requested data deletion in the past week (see attached examples). Please ensure that you have removed any personal information of the above users within 30 days of receiving this email. We do not have any control over what’s been stored on your platform so this must be completed by your team.
If the user has a web subscription and has not yet cancelled it, we suggest cancelling the subscription on their behalf before deleting their personal data.